Considering Shame

I’m beginning to suspect that Shame functions like some sort of Rorschach test.  I’ve read three completely different takes on it other that my own.  One of them makes pretty good sense to me, another I can see if I squint, and the third made me question whether the writer and I had seen the same film.  Is it because it includes so little dialogue? Because the characters’ backstories are almost entirely unknown? Because sex and nudity take up so much screen time? What does it say about a movie when several viewers can walk away after seeing it, each with an utterly distinct idea of what it was about? Curiouser and curiouser.

Leave a Reply

